Flint Hills Farm House Ale?
  • ceanntceannt
    Need moral support, suggestions, to re-create an old family recipe… Flint Hills Farm House Ale

So apparently I have a lot of brewers in my ancestry… going back at least to the early 1600s…. I have no idea what any of them made except for my Great Grandfather…. And that is sketchy……

From the 1880s (or earlier) until the early 1900s he made beer on his farm in the southern Flint Hills of Kansas. Far as I can tell, from the bits and pieces I’ve heard…. He brewed once or twice a year… in big crocks (there were a couple of like 15-gallon ones out in the barn when I was a kid) covered with cheesecloth for fermenters, down in the root cellar. Malted grain in his pole barn, and boiled in a huge big copper kettle. My Grandfather’s oldest brother was the only family member that I was ever able to get to talk about it in any detail, and that was before I started brewing. From all accounts his beer was “kind of darkish, with a reddish tint”, and was the best beer around back then. It was pretty wild around there until 1910 or so. I was told that he paid for his favorite “cartridge rifle” with his beer… (weird European single shot thing in 30-something caliber… only other one like it I’ve seen is cradled in the arm of Annie Oakley in an old photograph).The old boy grew a small plot of Barley for his beer, as well as winter wheat (his main crop). To make his Barley go farther, he malted some wheat also…. I’m thinking he used about 30% or so. He went to great pains to keep from getting a lot of smoke flavor in his malts, but I’ll bet there was a good touch of it…. He used Pecan and some Burr Oak for fuel. From the descriptions, he made some roasted barley, and what had to be a dark crystal malt (made no sense to me at the time, but looking back it had to be, he soaked it in hot water for a while before roasting dry).