Going all grain with sanke kegs
  • BenvarineBenvarine
    I'm looking for advice. I intend to start brewing all grain. I have collected three sanke kegs and will use those. I use one for a boil kettle now so will use the others as MLT and HLT. Any suggestions on pieces of equipment to include, single tier, two tier, how many pumps, burners, insulating MLT, false bottom, etc. I am moving to all grain slowly and will not make a huge investment all at once, but rather piece it together as money allows. Ideally with a few key pieces at first I would be able to start all grain brewing before I achieve my 'ideal' setup eventually. Baby steps. :D
  • C_BC_B
    With some cheap Quick Disconnects and high temp hose you can do one pump easy. You can even batch fly sparge with one pump if you go multi tiered.
    I have zero experience mashing in a keg. I would think temp stabilization would be tricky to get. Maybe go with a false bottom then direct fire with an inline thermometer after the pump?
    Also, I think recirculating while you chill is where it's at. From what I've read it can really make a difference in the 5 minute to flameout hop addition. You can do this with everything you already have plus the pump regardless of what type of chiller.
    Baby steps is the right way to approach it. Once you get going, you will undoubtedly change your mind about something. My goal with my system is to be able to make a modification or two then brew with it. Then make a couple more changes.
    "On it. I hate software." ~Cpt Snarklepants
  • ThymThym
    For holding temps, buy an insulating foam bed roll from a sporting goods store. Makes a huge difference.
    The only thing between me and a train wreck is blind luck..... - Kenny
  • BenvarineBenvarine
    Lakewood said:

For holding temps, buy an insulating foam bed roll from a sporting goods store. Makes a huge difference.

Can you fire the mash tun if it has the bed role on it?
  • C_BC_B
    Benvarine said:

Lakewood said: