Aging beer
  • BenvarineBenvarine
    I get this question a lot from beer novices and I don't have a great answer, "can you drink your beer fast enough before it goes bad?" I don't have a clear answer to why some beers age and get better and some turn awful. I understand about barley wines and barrel aged beers and why IPA's can lose hop flavor and aroma, but because I ain't read so much, maybe yous cud educate me on what to age and what not to. Thanxs
  • JayrizzleJayrizzle
    There are a lot of factors. I'm not an expert on the subject, but here are a few thoughts:
    Most people have learned from beer advertising that fresh is better. With pasteurized beer this is often true.
    Hops have very volatile oils in them, these dissipate over time.
    Skunked beer sucks, caused by UV exposure
    Oxidation make thing taste like crap if they are too old, but you can prevent that by not letting O2 get in your bottles/kegs. There are lots of tricks for this.

I just bottled a beer I brewed on the 4th of July. It's damn good (primary the whole way). I over dry hopped, then forgot about it. It doesn't seem like it's ever been dry hopped. But as far as "freshness" it's fine.
    "I don't have TP, but I do have ammo."
    -Some guy in Ohio
  • BenvarineBenvarine
    I drank my last bottle of my first stout I brewed. It was just okay a year ago, but perhaps one of my favorite stouts I have ever had, but basically because I brewed it. I should have aged it all.
  • ThymThym
    ABV usually plays a lot into the ageing equation. the bigger the beer, the long it can and should be aged. beers that are up at the 12% mark should be aged for a long time (years). a bud light clone should be drank straight out of the secondary since it only tastes worse over time.
    The only thing between me and a train wreck is blind luck..... - Kenny
  • JayrizzleJayrizzle
    Lakewood said: