Boom and bust fermentation question - Oatmeal Stout
  • To start, this is my first time brewing, so I don't know what to expect. Everything went well the first 2 days. I poured the cooled wort to the primary fermentation bucket (cooled in 16 minutes to 82F). I then stirred the wort vigorously for a couple minutes, before I added the yeast. I used a dry yeast, but to help, I made a yeast starter. For my starter, I boiled 2/3 cup of water, then rapidly cooled it to approximately 85F. I added the dry yeast and let it sit for 25 minutes. After 25 minutes, the yeast had not foamed or bubbled. I decided to use it anyway.

I put the lid on the fermenter (and the airlock), and let the fermentation start at room temperature (71F). After 1 day at 71F, I cooled the fermenter to 65F, and there was a lot of action (airlock was bubbling rapidly). However, on day 3 the fermenter got down to 60F, and then the airlock stopped bubbling. I brought the fermenter back up to 66F, but still no action. I know dry yeast tend to ferment fast, but I didn't think it would be that much of a boom and bust. I assume it is still fermenting, but just very slowly. The krausen has fallen back, and the residue on the side is weak.

My hydrometer reading is 1.020.

Do I have bad yeast? Should I pitch the yeast one more time?

Right now my plan is to leave it in the primary fermenter for 3 or 4 more days, then transfer to secondary fermenter. Unless I need to pitch again.

Thanks for your help.
  • ThymThym
    I would just let it ride. Having the temp drop rapidly can stall yeast but I doubt a 6 deg swing is going to be a problem. My beers rarely have vigorous fermentation past day 3. Just let it ride for now and check a hydro reading next week.
    The only thing between me and a train wreck is blind luck..... - Kenny
  • FerminatorFerminator
    I agree with lake, and unless your adding fruit or somthing I would skip the secondary and Just leave it on the yeast cake until your ready to bottle or keg.