Beer tasting apps
  • BenvarineBenvarine
    Who uses and could recommend a good tasting app? I have been searching in the Apple App Store. I found a few, most seem to be missing some essential elements. If you put them all together, it would be great, like Voltron. One app has a barcode scanner which would be cool for bottles. One had a way to photo the labels. Some you could link to Facebook, twitter, email. Most had very simple rating systems, which is lacking. Some didn't have a way of actually rating, simply good or bad. I'd like a way to categorize easily, on the go, reference easily, tasting notes, etc.
  • jlwjlw
    I haven't found a great one. Been playing around with building an app but I'm not very good at so it probably will never get published.
  • BenvarineBenvarine
    I just found another one. Tasting Beer. It is $12.99, but is the book by Randy Mosher as well an app that can record your personal tasting. Also syncs between iPhone and iPad. Any use it?
  • ThymThym
    I don't have an ipad or iphone, but it sounds like an app worth trying out.
    The only thing between me and a train wreck is blind luck..... - Kenny
  • frydogbrewsfrydogbrews
    mention voltron anywhere in a thread and my brain just starts cycling through the music that plays voltron until i hear "and i'll form the head!" god i love that show.
  • scoobscoob

mention voltron anywhere in a thread and my brain just starts cycling through the music that plays voltron until i hear "and i'll form the head!" god i love that show.

Awesomeness animated!

I use my BJCP app, I pull up the style so I know what to expect more or less, then I can decide if I want to try it.

Not a cool app but its what I use. Someone smart needs to develop an app that is like wiki for your phone, people scan a barcode on a beer and review it, this builds the database accessible from the web
    Jesus didn't wear pants
  • frydogbrewsfrydogbrews
    azscoob said:

Awesomeness animated!