Blow off tubes
  • GryllEGryllE
    No rush, just wondering if anyone has any thoughts/ideas... I have been brewing steadily for about 6 years, and 7 months ago I moved to Missouri from Mississippi and have noticed that a blow off tube has been neccessary here for the majority of batches. I have always made 5ish gallon batches in 6 gallon carboys with an airlock and I have actually never needed a blow off tube before moving here. I do extract/mini-mash recipes in all sorts of styles. Any thoughts on differences that can cause foaming and overly vigorous fermentation?
  • piping_pigpiping_pig
    I have rarley ever needed a blowoff tube.... but I use a 7.5 gallon plastic bucket fermenter. I have found that there is a lot more foaming with batches that include a lot of roasted malts... robust porters/stouts that kind of thing.
    Strange that moving has caused this.... are you fermenting warmer?

ceannt
  • GryllEGryllE
    I think I've always brewed between 65 and 75 F (because that's what I keep my house at, and just don't brew much in the heat of the summer). Maybe I should switch to buckets!
  • GryllE said:

I think I've always brewed between 65 and 75 F (because that's what I keep my house at, and just don't brew much in the heat of the summer). Maybe I should switch to buckets!

there are advantages and disadvantages to both... I like the buckets cause they are easier to clean, and have a bit more headspace. Carboys work just fine, have less chance for nasties to hide in scratches... and are a whole lot easier to get the lid off and on...
  • ThymThym
    Has anything else changed in your brewing? Pitch rates, yeast strains, malts, mash temps, mash times, extract brand, boil vigor? There are a lot of factors that can factor into the vigor of fermentation and the thickness of the head. Even barometric pressure has a role to play, but I would start by looking at the other areas first.
    The only thing between me and a train wreck is blind luck..... - Kenny