Cigar 101 - Wrappers, Fillers and Binders
  • jlwjlw
    First, let me say I am no expert so the info I am writing here is gleaned from different web-sites.

Wrappers - The outermost part of the cigar it essentially holds the whole cigar together. It will give the cigar a certain color, taste and feel. It's the first thing you see and feel and sense.

Fillers - This is the inside of the cigar it's made of small leaves, wrapep, etc. Fillers are blended together to give the cigar it's aroma and flavor.

Binder - The tobacco that holds the fillers together. Binders are may times the same as the wrapper.

All three of these give the cigar the aroma and taste you experience while smoking a cigar.

Types of Wrappers:
    Double Claro - The lightest, slightly green wrapper, it is often grown in Connecticut and the style is achieved by picking before maturity.
    Claro - This wrapper is yellowish or light tan and usualy indicates shade-grown tobacco.
    Colorado Claro - Normaly associated with Cuban or Dominican grown tobacco it has a mid-brown colour.
    Colorado Manduro - Normaly associated with Cuban or Honduran grown tobacco it has a dark-brown colour.
    Natural - This is sun-grown and is light brown to brown.
    Maduro - This is dark brown to very dark brown.
    Oscuro - Often referred to as "Double Manduro" this wrapper has a black oily appearance and is usually grown in Cuba, Connecticut, Brazil, Mexico and Nicaragua.

Types of Fillers:
    Corojo- One of the Cuban strains, it can vary from smooth and creamy to very spicy and full bodied. It is grown in most cigar tobacco growing regions, and is a highly sought after leaf at its best.
    Criollo- Another of the Cuban strains, it also can be quite different depending upon the country of origin. It can be flavorful, but smooth (as in the CAO Criollo), or very powerful (as in the Joya de Nicaragua Antaño).