Irish Red partial mash
  • C_BC_B
    I want to brew @ceannt 's Traditional Irish Red in a 10 gallon batch but I don't want to have to build my new MLT yet. So here is a bastard PM recipe that keeps my grain bill under 13 lbs to fit in my current 5 gallon MLT. I could actually fit 15 pounds I think if I mashed thick.

Malt & Fermentables
    % LB OZ °L PPG
    52% 10 8 Golden Promise Mash 2° 32
    39% 7 14 Extra Light Dry Extract Late Boil 3° 44
    4% 0 14 Crystal 60L Mash 60° 34
    4% 0 12 Crystal 20L Mash 20° 34
    2% 0 6 Roasted Barley - 550L Mash 550° 34
    13lbs grain

Specific Gravity
    1.065 OG
    15.9° Plato
    1.018 FG

Hops
    Usage Time OZ AA » IBU
    boil 60 min 2 East Kent Goldings ~ pellet 5.8 » 20.6
    boil 5 min 1 Fuggles ~ pellet 4.3 » 1.5

Bitterness
    22.2 IBU

I'm new at recipe formulation. I can't really look at a grain bill and know what it should taste like. And I'm completely guessing at the extract sub for GP. What is the best sub for GP? Is there one really?

Thoughts, tweaks, concerns appreciated.

"On it. I hate software." ~Cpt Snarklepants
  • ceanntceannt
    Believe it or not I developed a partial mash version of mine...... I think it just used plain old light extract .... let me look at my notes ... and I will let you know monday morning
    Never attribute to malice, that which can adequately be explained by stupidity.
  • C_BC_B
    My concern is the what will be lost with extract over Golden Promise. Since it isn't a 100% sub, I suppose it might be ok. But I really just don't know anything about recipe formulation/adjustment.
  • ceanntceannt
    Max out your mash tun with all the specialty grains ... and as much GP as will fit .... make up the difference with plain extract to get your O.G.
  • ceanntceannt
    Mash a couple degrees higher ... to make up for the greater attenuation of the extract
  • ceanntceannt