Easy smoking recipes?
  • C_BC_B
    I'm new to smokin'. What's easy to do? Is any one meat simpler than another? I want to do some of FZ's hot peppers for sure. I'd like to maybe do something more of a main course for my son's birthday party next weekend. But pretty much everything in my freezer is for something other than smoking... Crockpot and stuff.

Suggestions on a simple "recipe" would be appreciated.
    "On it. I hate software." ~Cpt Snarklepants
  • scoobscoob
    how about some smoked pork chops? Simple to make, don't take forever to cook either.

You could do some yardbird too, not much simpler than smoked chicken! Buy the chicken quarters instead of whole fryers, not much more effort than grilling chicken. Simply brine the chicken overnight in cold water, salt, garlic, and other seasoning to your liking, rinse, season with some rub, then smoke at 225-250 for a few hours.
    Jesus didn't wear pants
  • C_BC_B
    That sounds pretty easy. I do have some chops, but I like the chicken idea. Smoke until then chicken hits the correct internal temp? When do I know it's done?
  • FuzzyFuzzy
    brined, smoked chicken is delicious. i coulda sworn i posted a recipe somewhere, but now i can't find it.
    The pinnacle of lame and awesome in one singular moment. -Lake
  • FuzzyFuzzy
    huzzah! found it. super easy and very yummy.

http://homebrewforums.net/discussion/64/savory-smoked-chicken#Item_1
  • FuzzyFuzzy
    the brine is great as is. as for the rub, you can use that one or change it up completely, the options are unlimited.
  • ceanntceannt
    Chickens are good .....
    I like to soak em in beer ... some cider vinegar and a touch of olive oil.... oh... worchestershire sauce too .... a good bit of it ... dry off and rub with ... Hungarian paprika .. onion and garlic powder ... a little dry mustard .. cayenne and thyme ...
    Let sit another 4 hours and smoke over hickory ...