Hot Pepper Beer Design
  • jlwjlw
    @ceannt

Ceannt and I have been talking about creating a hot pepper beer for a few months now. Peppers are starting to grow so I think we will be brewing our beers in a couple of weeks. Wanted to get this posted up for recipe input, design tips, suggestions or other comments.

Anyone else want to join in on this beer. I thought we could also do a swap.

• jlwjlw
    I've went back and forth between a traditional IPA, stout or porter. Ceannt mentioned Black Ale today and this got me thinking that this style would be well suited to balance out the heat of the peppers. After all, chocolate does go well with hot peppers. So I a think I will go with my Imperial Black Ale recipe as the base and then add the peppers in
  • jlwjlw
    Here is the base recipe:

Recipe: Anthracite Black Ale
    Brewer:
    Asst Brewer:
    Style: Imperial IPA
    TYPE: All Grain
    Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
    --------------------------
    Boil Size: 6.35 gal
    Post Boil Volume: 5.72 gal
    Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal
    Bottling Volume: 5.00 gal
    Estimated OG: 1.094 SG
    Estimated Color: 38.0 SRM
    Estimated IBU: 110.6 IBUs
    Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
    Est Mash Efficiency: 82.5 %
    Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
    ------------
    Amt Name Type # %/IBU
    15 lbs 8.0 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 88.6 %
    1 lbs Carafa III (525.0 SRM) Grain 2 5.7 %
    1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 3 5.7 %
    2.00 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days Hop 8 0.0 IBUs
    3.00 oz Magnum [14.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 4 108.7 IBUs
    2.00 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days Hop 9 0.0 IBUs
    2.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] - Boil 1.0 min Hop 5 1.9 IBUs
    0.50 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 6 0.0 IBUs
    2.0 pkg California Ale (White Labs #WLP001) [35. Yeast 7 -

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
    Total Grain Weight: 17 lbs 8.0 oz